I knew it…….that “fracking” gas is evil!

Just another instance of how Mother Earth plays us for the fool. Natural gas has long been thought to be the clean alternative for energy due to its low carbon emissions during use. Now, as reported in The Hill blog, Cornell University professors will soon publish research that concludes natural gas produced with a drilling method called “hydraulic fracturing” contributes to global warming as much as coal, or even more. Development of gas from shale rock formations produced through hydraulic fracturing – dubbed “fracking” – brings far more methane emissions than conventional gas production.

The research should be good news for the dairy industry since it will inevitably take the heat off of them for all the methane problems their flatulent cows have caused. But for the energy industry, this is just one more nail in the coffin (or should I say coughin).

Putting natural gas producers right up there with the likes of coal and oil producers as another of Satan’s spawns, this report should have the environmentalist wackos dancing in the streets. You know who I mean don’t you? Those are the people who live in heated and air-conditioned homes, fly across the country burning jet fuel, and take their kids to soccer practice in a fossil-fueled car with a bumper sticker that says: “Stop the drilling now!” They must have an inside track to alternate energy that they’re going to use as soon as we stop the drilling. It sure would be nice if they would tell the rest of us.

In any case, it’s about fracking time we learned the truth about this once revered energy source. It seems we poor humans can’t get out of our own way. Using our God given intelligence for invention and progress, we come up with ways to make our lives better only to hasten our own demise. Our thanks to all these researchers (who, incidentally, should not be mistaken for the aforementioned group of folks who actually work to improve our lives) for tirelessly reminding of us of this tendency to destroy ourselves.

In related news, Algore recently appeared before a group of Hitler youth young college students in DC to exhort them that they and they alone could stop the rantings of the anti-warming coalition. Citing recent extreme weather around the globe, Algore lamented “you cannot negotiate with physics.” For a clarification of what he meant, see the first 3 of “Big Al’s immutable laws of politics” on his other blog site.

8 thoughts on “I knew it…….that “fracking” gas is evil!

  1. I wanted you to know i read this blog. You might want to update it with information from the July 14 articles (8 of them) in the Economist magazine. I conclude from these and other material I have read that fracking is okay.

    I do think the folks who drive those gas guzzling vehicles might stop and ask themselves where does gas come from. As for Al Gore, his use of energy really turned me off. Don’t talk the talk if you can’t walk the walk.

  2. Sorry Bernice, I accidentally deleted your comment while posting a reply. As I recall, you graciously offered me some Valium to take before I write. Thanks, but I’m afraid it would have an adverse reaction with the venom IV I hook up to before I write each “hoax” blog.

Your turn to write, but please don't be wittier than me. My ego is quite fragile.