Conversations overheard…..

We were dog-sitting our friends’ beagle puppy (Daisy) this weekend. Our Yellow Labrador (Queenie) helped us. I could swear they were talking to each other at times. Perhaps you’d like to listen in.

(Click on photos to enlarge)

"OK, quick quiz youngster, this knot is A. a Granny, or B. a Half-hitch, or C. a Square?"

"Go ahead, punk. Try to take it. Make my day!"

(Whispering) "Queenie, you promise you won't tell another soul?"

"If we just put our heads together we can figure this out!"

"Take a rest Queenie, I got your back."."

"Daisy, I don't think this is what they mean by bringing up the rear."

"Well, you did say you'd keep an eye on me this weekend, didn't you?"

"Daisy, that 2nd molar on the left hurts a little, do see any decay?"

"This is my vicious German Shepherd impression. Pretty good, huh?"

"Oh yeah, wait til you see my Dumbo impression!"

"A little more to the left... a little more.... ahhhh....that's it!"

"So this is what you meant by being at the end of your rope."

"I said, look at me when I'm talking to you!"

"Trust me Daisy, this "head in the mouth of the Lion" trick wows 'em every time!"

Eat your heart out Dr. Doolittle.

About Al

Retired from a couple of professions, trying my hand at writing about the events in our lives.
This entry was posted in Humorous and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Conversations overheard…..

  1. Barbara says:

    Very cute 🙂

  2. You have to say this is brilliant. Bought a smile to my day

  3. Al, I’m impressed. The longest conversation I’ve had with Scrappy had to do with pooping and it was more or less one-sided (the conversarion, I mean). Great way to spend a weekend and your inner shutterbug!

    • Big Al says:

      Very familiar with those conversations too, Lorna. And you’re right, they’re more like monologues and with the colder weather coming, they will become more vociferous.

  4. pegoleg says:

    Awwwwwww. I can’t believe how patient Queenie is with that puppy. Too cute!

  5. Bernice says:

    What adorable pictures. You probably couldn’t concentrate on football watching because the dogs were so engaging.

  6. egills says:

    Aren’t they sweet – thanks for the commentary I like the dumbo comment 🙂

  7. Jodi Stone says:

    Yay Big Al!!! Thanks for doing a dog post. I love Queenie and that little Daisy is adorable (I love beagles and labs, how can you go wrong?) I can’t believe that tiny puppy played tug with a full grown lab. Puppies are amazing.

  8. Cindy B says:

    I’m glad you said I could enlarge these…they’re even better that way…especially that last one where I thought Queenie was considering having the beagle for lunch…nah, she’s a lady! You had fun last weekend, huh. Great photos.

    • Big Al says:

      Yeah, like Hannibal Lecter said in “Silence of the Lambs”, she was having a friend over for dinner. We did have a blast. It seems so quiet around here now.

  9. I don’t understand how you could bear to separate them at the end of the week. Dianne

  10. misswhiplash says:

    IS BIG AL CLEVER! No it’s the dogs that are the clever ones..they told him what to write..
    anyway little ray of sunshine..it’s a good post, easy on the eye and most enjoyable to read

    Love P

  11. Jeri says:

    Too damn cute for words!

  12. RaRee says:

    this is wonderful! You are so clever!

Your turn to write, but please don't be wittier than me. My ego is quite fragile.

