A day late……but definitely not a dollar short!

I witnessed a most amazing occurrence today.

I was at the VA hospital in Richmond, VA. As some of you know, a couple of times a month I drive disabled vets from here in Charlottesville to the Richmond hospital for their treatments or appointments. While I wait for them to finish, I set my laptop up in the cafeteria and read blogs, write blogs, check email, etc. In fact, I was catching up on your blogs when it happened.

As I was sitting there today I noticed a very gracious looking older couple across from me. I was guessing they were in their mid to late 80’s. The man was in a motorized wheelchair and had an oxygen breathing tube and tank. The woman, a girl-next-door type, was holding his hand and it was obvious they were an “item”.

Suddenly, out of the blue, they embraced and kissed. I don’t mean a simple peck. I don’t mean one of those “I love you” reminder kisses. I mean a good old-fashioned, down home, lunch-crowd-be-damned, all-American lip lock!Β  They held the embrace and kiss for well over a minute.

I thought to myself, when is the last time any of us held an affectionate kiss with our loved one for over a minute?Β  OK, I mean without any extra-curricular groping going on. Time it on your watch. It is a long time to hold such a tender kiss, especially in public. And yes, their eyes were closed the whole time.

I was so moved by this unabashed and guiltless display of affection that I got up, walked over to their table, and said: “It may be the day after Valentines Day, but that was the sweetest Valentine kiss I have ever seen.”Β  They both grinned sheepishly and the man leaned over and said: “I married this wonderful lady in 1947.”

I thought about asking them if I could take their picture, but then I realized that it would cheapen the splendor of the moment. Where is Hallmark when you really need them? And where is my wife?

About Al

Retired from a couple of professions, trying my hand at writing about the events in our lives.
This entry was posted in Misc and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to A day late……but definitely not a dollar short!

  1. Barbara says:

    I thought this was going to be a silly joke cos you said one of them was connected up to oxygen…. I was wondering were they sharing!

    Very sweet though after all that time!

  2. Thats a beautiful story. I would probably have done the same thing in your shoes. Couple like that tell us so much aout what is possible.

  3. Susan Okaty says:

    Love it! Nice thing you do at the VA, by the way.

  4. Hermionejh says:

    That’s so awesome! How cool that you got to witness that.

  5. Barb says:

    What a wonderful post. I’m gonna give my guy a big smooch,. (As soon as I can find him.)

  6. winsomebella says:

    There’s a lot of mileage on the lips of those two. Hooray for them!

  7. pegoleg says:

    In my day, such goings-on in public were not tolerated.

    Good thing it’s not my day. πŸ˜‰ (sweet!)

  8. I’m mindful of my kisses with my guy. We lip-linger. May it always be so. πŸ™‚

    • Al says:

      Yes, I seem to recall a graphic to that effect on one of your posts. I reported it to the wordpress censors, but they must too busy in that department to follow up.

  9. Wow, I think I will find my husband.

  10. Tilly Bud says:

    How sweet! But if I try that on the Hub, timing him, he’s going to think of Jane Fonda in Klute…

  11. Jodi Stone says:

    It’s very rare to experience a moment like that, you were blessed to have witnessed it.

    And God Bless you for helping the veterans out, that is something I want to do one day. πŸ™‚

  12. Cindy B says:

    Sweet!

  13. RaRee says:

    Too sweet!

Your turn to write, but please don't be wittier than me. My ego is quite fragile.

