Only 11,999,997 to go!

WordPress claims to have approximately 12 million users world wide.

Last weekend, I had the pleasure of meeting my 3rd fellow blogger from WordPress since I joined in 2010. Just like the first two encounters, I found Dianne, of “Schmidley’s Scribblings”, to be as engaging and delightful in person as she is on the blog. We were in Washington, D.C. for the Epilepsy Foundation National Walk and afterward were able to meet with Dianne for lunch.

One of the favorite things I find about her blogs is how she gives an historical slant to whatever topic she is posting about. Though retired now, she just recently received yet another post graduate degree in History. Also an avid gardener, her varied interests throughout her life and career make for fascinating as well as educational blogs. Patty and I also had the opportunity to meet her husband, David, who is no slouch himself when it comes to a captivating and varied life story.

When I first joined WordPress, aside from the freedom to begin expressing myself, I thought the relative anonymity was a plus. Little did I know I would be caught up in some great friendships and have the opportunity to get to know so many people with absorbing and divergent interests. Eventually meeting them in person is the frosting on the cake.

I certainly I hope I will get to meet more as my future travel allows. And yes, that includes my many new found friends in England and other countries!

Until then ….blog on!

20130420_133320

25 thoughts on “Only 11,999,997 to go!

  1. Al it would be a special treat to meet you and Patty – we are very friendly here in the UK. I have met a few blogging buddies thanks to Skype 🙂 x

  2. It’s a lovely idea to meet Blogging friends. One of the most amazing things about Blogging is the way you make great connections all over the world. One of the most frustrating things is that they are all over the world and its very expensive to visit anyone. Ya Boo Groan. You are one of the people I would love to spend an evening swapping tips on how to live a healthier life style while downing the odd gallon of wine.

  3. OMG I hadn’t seen a photo of me in years. I look like an old lady. Don’t know why I am surprised, but I am only 70. You on the other hand look like a young kid. I didn’t realize how tall you were. At 5’8″ I am not short. At least I was 5’8″. Maybe I shrank?? Dianne

    • I think it’s a great picture of two of blogdoms most famous citizens. I have given up almost an inch to gravity myself. I use to be nearly 6’5″….now down closer to 6’4″.

    • The great Al….I like the sound of that. Would you be interested in a job as my publicist? Wait, that would mean I have to publish something. Never mind.

    • That can be arranged. Please send all donations to the following charity: “I need money to visit my friend Barbara in England, c/o of Big Al, Virginia Beach, VA, USA.” I encourage you to forward this to friends and family and post on Facebook.

Your turn to write, but please don't be wittier than me. My ego is quite fragile.