Weekly Photo Challenge – Masterpiece

“No matter where you are (and where you’ve been), I’m certain you’ve stumbled upon something extraordinary: a place that blows your mind; a work of art or object that speaks to you; or even a location or scene that’s special, unusual, or even magical in some way.”

The following photos consist of Sand Art from multimedia artists around the world who displayed their works at this year’s Neptune Festival in Virginia Beach, Virginia. I originally posted this as a slide show and then realized you need to be able to click on the pictures to view the amazing detail.

Incredible artists – incredible art!

IMG_0622

IMG_0619

IMG_0609

IMG_0626

IMG_0634

IMG_0638

IMG_0642

IMG_0646

IMG_0613

IMG_0631

IMG_0648

IMG_0615

About Al

Retired from a couple of professions, trying my hand at writing about the events in our lives.
This entry was posted in Misc and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge – Masterpiece

  1. Coming East says:

    You will have to take pictures of this year’s entries because I won’t be here for that. I will miss it.

  2. I hope their sprinkler system doesn’t malfunction… 😉

  3. SOHO Lashes says:

    this is amazing. I wish I could do that 🙂

  4. I think the kids playing before the emerging (or disappearing?) dinosaurs is the best (LINK). Dianne

  5. Barbara says:

    Yup, I must admit that the man on the bed is my favourite, but there are loads of really great and clever pieces of artwork here, i love the ‘in one ear’ one. They remind me of the sand mandalas that the Buddhist monks make and then pour into a river

  6. pattisj says:

    Good choice, Al, I’m always blown away by the artwork.

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Masterpiece | Lily Mugford

  8. misswhiplash says:

    what can one say..they are truly fantastic…my favourite is the angel or Japanese Grave but I also like the man lying on a bed of (what are they??penis!!!
    all very clever and talented people

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Masterpiece | As iAge

  10. Margie says:

    Masterpieces – all of them! I love the sense of humour that comes out in so many of them.

    • Al says:

      Absolutely, Margie. And to think, I’ still have trouble making pathetic sand castles with my granddaughter’s bucket and shovel.

  11. Oh, wow! They are fabulous!

Your turn to write, but please don't be wittier than me. My ego is quite fragile.

