A man and his chair……a love story.

Was ever a sadder tale than that of star-crossed lovers? Romeo and Juliet, Rhett and Scarlett, Frankie and Johnnie, to name a scant few.

But take heart, all ye romantics, for there is a poignant love affair that transcends the sorrow of novel and rhyme to endure. To wit, that of a man and his chair.

You all know whereof I speak. Who among you has not lived with or known personally a man who didn’t have a chair he desired above all others? Whether high-backed chair or recliner lounge, whether warmest cloth or finest leather, the story is the same, unconditional respite. The welcoming comfort of a time worn chair provides unremitting solace and soothes yet the most savage beast. Ne’er a kingly throne was better fitted than the favorite chair of a wearied man.

Whether for literary perusal, urging on his best-loved team or a time-honored snooze, the chair beckons with its siren song of repose. It never questions, never judges and above all, never, ever falters from its universal charge as an oasis amid the burning desert of work and worry.

Not even the most harsh and disagreeable commands from on high can diminish its ardor. Though cacophonous echos of “please take out the garbage” or “time to walk the dogs” or “get ready, we have company coming”  oft disrupt this march toward nirvana, he knows in his heart that all in good time he will soon reunite with that entity that is at once his good fortune and his due.

Time passes, continents shift and heavens expand, but this persists: that a man and his chair will never part.

Al asleep 2
Siesta time in the man cave.
53 thoughts on “A man and his chair……a love story.

    1. Thanks for the compliment, Mona. Now all I have to do is get my carcass out of that chair and write another one. Tough challenge during football season, though.

  1. Jane Thorne

    I hesitate to disturb you Al. x It’s great to hear from you and I ‘get’ your heartfelt post…lovely stuff….just like you and Betty and the girls. Xx

    1. Thanks, Jane. Nice to hear from you too.

      I think the positive effect of recliners on society has been way under-reported all these years, don’t you? I hope I have struck the first blow toward changing of of that.

      1. Jane Thorne

        I think ‘a man chair’, den, space, cave is vital and much under-rated. A recliner completes the feeling of peace and ‘caviness’…which is a word, by the way, that I would argue for in Scrabble. I am anticipating much support for the pro-recliner lobby. Jane x

          1. The cave comes from the book ‘Men are from. Mars and women are from Venus’ along with cosy armchairs men also have sheds so they can say ‘I’m just going down the shed’ my dad is not the DIY type so he has a room with his computer in it… When he says ‘I’m just going to check my emails’ it’s the same as ‘I’m just going down the shed’ it means ‘I may be some time………’

  2. Hey, I think Phil has that same chair! No wonder we haven’t seen much of you around these parts. You’ve been a busy man, keep that chair company. Chairs do get lonely. But remember, Al, so do we… Have your wife plop a lap top on that blanket of yours and give you nudge every once in a while just to make sure you’re breathing. No rest for the wicked, Al, and that includes you! 😉

    1. Shear genius! A laptop, maybe with a pull out cup holder for my beer and an attached tray for consuming mass quantities of goodies. Love ya Lorna!

        1. Talking maybe, but not spelling. Realized I used the wrong spelling of sheer in my previous comment. I think it’s because I am tsleepy. Where’s my chair…….??

  3. Whew! When I started reading this, I was afraid you were giving a eulogy for your chair, that maybe Patty had decided it had to go. Glad it is still with you. Is Patty still with you?

    1. Yes, Al’s world is fine, Cathy. I’ve been following yours and other blogs but too busy to write many myself. Glad you had such a wonderful trip.

  4. Nice to see you soaking up the comfort. The odd thing is, I was becoming a bit worried and was about to email you to see that everything was Ok, but thought I’d just check your blog first and , hey presto, here you are. You have been missed my friend

    1. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz…………………………………………………….

  5. Cindy B

    Well I have two sons and a bf so I know whereof I speak (write). No sense in even trying to plop down in their spots…you just get shooed away…or given a look. Well it keeps us women slender, that’s for sure. Good picture….wonder if you all snore at the same time.

  6. Siesta time..ah the longing..and quite rightly too. I love my chair,which has extending bits for me legs. It is warm and comfortable and is getting well worn in. I must admit to getting a bit ‘miffed’ if someone gets into my chair. My old chair (before my new chair) is still outside in the donkey stable..its very old but I cannot part with it. What does one do?

Your turn to write, but please don't be wittier than me. My ego is quite fragile.

