I have discovered a previously undiscovered post about being discovered…..

Margie over at Fueled by Chocolate  just posted an article about a club she is starting in Canada. It’s called the “Undiscovered Club” and has a very exclusive membership.

You may remember that a club called “Never Been Freshly Pressed” existed when WordPress had a special section of featured posts called Freshly Pressed. Margie was the creator of this club and served as President with distinction until WordPress, obviously feeling slighted and demeaned by this successful enterprise, retaliated by Freshly Pressing one of her posts.  I was proud to take up the mantle of President of the NBFP Club after Margie was so ignominiously forced into retirement by this callous treatment.

Our club carried on the tradition of NBFP exclusivity for all those of us who were continually passed over, in spite of the clever, witty and riveting posts we made at every turn. So what did the conniving, hating and dictatorial editors at WordPress do next?  In their typical impertinent fashion, they discontinued FP without any fanfare. In its place, “Discover” was born.  By using this term, they want you to think that by being “discovered” by them, out of 56 million posts each day, will lead to literary fame with possible movie rights to follow. I’m not fooled by semantics and I know you are not either. With 56 million daily posts it’s still just a matter of them throwing darts as their so-called exalted selection process.

Hence the new club “Undiscovered.” No soul-crushing lack of acknowledgment here, no “waiting for the phone to ring” anticipation of being discovered only to be stomped flat by the evil of editors of WordPress who are, as I write this, no doubt hoisting a beer and laughing at your insecurity. With the Undiscovered Club you are guaranteed continued membership with every post.

Margie has graciously asked me to accept the Presidency of the American Chapter of the Undiscovered Club which I humbly accept. I’ll be forming a cabinet soon so please comment with your qualifications for office. (Hint: the only qualification necessary is posts unrecognized by Discover.) In the meantime, should you be so unfortunate as to be ‘discovered” by WordPress, please accept my condolences, but take heart, there’s always Blogger.com.

P.S. As further enticement for joining, you may add this badge of honor* to your posts henceforth. Our motto: “Be proud, be undiscovered!”

undiscovered

*Thanks, Margie

About Al

Retired from a couple of professions, trying my hand at writing about the events in our lives.
This entry was posted in Misc and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to I have discovered a previously undiscovered post about being discovered…..

  1. I just discovered this post! I was trying to reduce the 49999999 blogging emails in my inbox and I did a search on “from:Daily Post” so I could delete them. Luckily I spotted yours in the mix before I deleted it! (It’s those evil WP editors secretly planting links in your title, I’m sure of it.)

    This is very exciting! Can I assume that if Margie started it, you’re allowed to be a member even if you’ve been previously Freshly Pressed? You know, WP introduced Discover just after I got FP’d. I’d only had the blue sticker on the wall for a couple of weeks before it was rendered meaningless. Bastards.

    • Al says:

      Considering the insensitive way you were treated, I think you should be the Sargent-at-Arms for the Undiscovered. You can then legally strong arm any WP staffers who try to infiltrate our meetings! Agreed?

  2. No fanfare. No limelight. No hullaballoo. No problem! I’m in! And think of the subcommittees you could form, Al: Unrecovery, Unrediscovery, and Unskulduggery.

    I’m totally undiscovered and proud of it. I’ll be your poster dizzy blonde!

    • Al says:

      Great. I’m appointing you Secretary of Immigration, making sure no illegals (bloggers who have been discovered) cross the border into our ranks!

  3. Margie says:

    I’m so pleased you have accepted the Presidency of the American chapter of our Club. You’re going to have a cabinet!? I didn’t think about that – I was too busy anticipating our dues – dark chocolate again, right!?

  4. pegoleg says:

    Congratulations, President Al! I know you’ll be a benevolent dictator.

    This club probably won’t have the upper-crust exclusivity of the first, because Discover is all-angst, all the time. They almost totally ignore the humor category. Almost. 😉

    • Al says:

      Thanks, Peg. I’d love to have you on the ticket (I’m thinking Secretary of Witticisms) or have you already been discovered?

      As for being a benevolent dictator, I promise never to call Obama a “son of a wh***.”

  5. Barb says:

    This is such an honor for you and an outstanding organization to be a charter member of. I too, would like to remain undiscovered, and not hassle with fame, or Brad Pitt wanting my phone number. Thanks for this opportunity for inclusion in exclusion.

    • Al says:

      Glad to be a part of this exemplary bastion for the little guy. By the way, Brad did call for your number, but I said no way. She’s a committed low profile gal now.

  6. The question is..undiscovered by whom? If you are up to no good, being undiscovered has its upside. If your lying in bed naked, there could be an upside or a downside, depending on who enters your bedroom. If you’re in the doctor’s office waiting room, there could be an upside or a downside, depending….If you are at the bakery waiting for a sticky bun and there are only two left….well.

  7. Mary says:

    Love this. I too am in this exclusive club.

Your turn to write, but please don't be wittier than me. My ego is quite fragile.

